Book Reviews

“Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” Review

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

“Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the ‘Harry Potter’ series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.” – Goodreads

Why did I read this book?

My friend, Kaylin, told me that we would be going to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them for her birthday. As excited as I was to see the movie, I felt obligated to read all of the Harry Potter books before I saw the movie. Alas, this put me on a journey for which I was not mentally prepared.

Worth the read?

Let me start by saying, I read this book in a week. I started on January 8th, 2016, and finished the book on January 15th, 2016. Typically, I am a slow reader – as in I only read two books in 2015 and that was for school – so this was EXTREMELY surprising.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was absolutely INSANE! There were so many twists and turns throughout this book. When I got to the end, I realized just how much everything in the book came full circle. Questions I had at the beginning were completely answered by the end. All in all, I truly believe this book deserves 5/5 stars. If you have not yet read the Harry Potter series, do yourself a favor and get on it. You won’t be disappointed.

Goodreads Link:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3.Harry_Potter_and_the_Sorcerer_s_Stone

Leave a Reply

